The playoffs so far

So its been awhile since I’ve posted. We’ll chalk it up to being so captivated by the playoffs that I haven’t been able to post. The real reason: I’ve been lazy.

The me bashing aside, I have to say I’ve been very pleased with how the playoffs have gone so far. Every team I want to advance is still alive or have already won their series.

Just some quick thoughts on what has transpired so far:

Tampa Bay- I wanted them to lose but still it is a shame they were bounced so quickly after their remarkable come back just to punch their playoff ticket. Only the Rays could start a rookie, who was making only his second big league start, and have him win a playoff game. Still I have to say it. The lack of Rays fans at home playoff games, as well as games down the stretch, was disgusting. That city does not deserve that team….though that’s not to say they aren’t without loyal fans. There is just not enough them.

Detroit- Joe Giradi starts A.J. Burnett in a must win game on your home turf and you can’t light him up?? Come on. It’s not over yet but if the Yanks do win Game 5 you have only yourself to blame. 

Brewers- keep up the good work. Let’s end this tonight.

Cardinals- Well played to force a Game 5. Now all you have to do is beat Roy Halliday and you’re off to the next round!…ummm, good luck. 

4 comments

  1. mlblogsgiantsbythebay

    I think the emotional roller coaster regarding the Rays caught up with them in the series with the Rangers. Also, I thought the series between the Phillies-Cardinals would be over by now. Give St. Louis credit. They forced a game 5.
    -Wayne
    http://giantorture.mlblogs.com

  2. mlblogsyossif

    I think that the Tampa Bay area still deserves that team. Even though I never hated the Trop at all, I think that a new stadium would definitely bring the attendance up to decent. I must admit it is a shame though. Who are your rooting for in the playoffs, the Brewers?
    The Rays Rant- http://yossif.mlblogs.com/

  3. toosoxy

    I don’t know. There are NEVER people there. They practically give tickets away and they still can’t fill up Tropicana. It’s upsetting. I am from Florida and am, actually, kind of surprised at the indifference of my home state. I’m with the author. Move it to a city that appreciates.

  4. mlblogsbluejaysnest

    A new stadium would probably help, but I can’t blame the city for not wanting to build a new one when they can’t even draw 20,000 to their current locale. I hate to say it, but if people didn’t turn out in droves to support this year’s or 2008’s and 09’s, I can’t see it ever happening. I don’t know what it is but Florida and big league baseball just don’t seem to mix.

Leave a Reply

