Carpenter out duels the Doctor, the Tigers knock off the Yanks, Brewers walk off to NLCS

Don’t post for one day and you miss a lot these days….gotta love October baseball.

I’ll start with the St. Louis/Philly series that just ended a few moments ago. I’ll start with this: I have always said that when healthy Chris Carpenter is as good as, if not better, than Doc. I’ve softened my stance on that a bit the past three or four seasons, but I still say the fact that the Jays let Carpenter go for nothing really set them back a few years. 

That being said, I am a little disappointed for Doc because of all he did in a Jays uniform. Hopefully he does get that World Series ring before it’s all said and done. 

As for the Yankees, well, what can I say? Second year in a row Alex Rodriguez strikes out to end their season and he walked off to a chorus of boos. Can’t ask for anything more than that. 

And the Brewers, while they made it interesting, they got the job done in walk off fashion. Sadly it meant the end of the line for John McDonald. Hopefully he’s extended an offer to re-join the Jays in the off-season.

Long story short, all of my picks made it through to the next round. Pretty incredible when you consider that everyone of them except the Rangers were underdogs. That’s why you have to love October baseball.

The next round match ups may not be the rating monsters that t.v. execs were hoping for, but I don’t care. I’ve pretty pumped for a Rangers/Tigers and Brewers/Cards match up. Like I said, I like variety and I like quirky.

As for my picks, I’m still sticking with a Brewers/Tigers World Series, with Milwaukee winning it all. 

Still a long shot, but it’s one step closer to reality. 

5 comments

  1. Christine

    I jumped for joy and cheered when the Tigers knocked the Yanks out! Gotta love October baseball. I feel bad for the Phils though. I thought for sure this was their year!! Now I figure you’re right. Tigers and Brewers final. Not sure who wins. But I’d almost put money on BrewCrew.

Leave a Reply

