Big Papi in the Big Smoke?

The awards continue to pile up for Jose Bautista this offseason, picking up his second straight silver slugger award for an outfielder. Not surprisingly, he was the only Jay to pick up a silver slugger.

Also picking one up was Boston’s David Ortiz. I mention this because early rumours are that Big Pappi may be interested in coming to Toronto to reunite with John Farrell. 

Obviously, if Ortiz can match his .309, 29 homers and 96 RBI for 12 million or less, I would welcome him with open arms. My only concerns are he is 35, plays in a very small park and has been surrounded by superstars for the past eight years.

Normally I would say avoid former Red Sox players at all costs. Especially given the way they folded down the stretch. But Ortiz has always been different and is one of the few Boston players I can tolerate. It’s risky, but given that he is primarily a DH, I think he could produce for another two seasons if everything goes his way.

Whether he’ll end up in Toronto remains to be seen. I think we can safely assume he won’t be back in Boston given some of the comments he made after their collapse.

In a perfect world the Jays would make a run at Albert Pujols, but I’m trying to be realistic here.

The offseason is just getting started though, so who knows what crazy rumours will pop up between now and Spring Training.  

9 comments

  1. mlblogsbluejaysnest

    It’d be interesting if there were any truth behind the Votto rumours. I think just because he is from the Toronto area people tend to think that is where he’ll likely end up. I’m not so sure, not with Lind in the picture anyway.

  2. This is a very simple game...

    Yeah, Papi didn’t sound like he wants to stay in Boston, no matter how he has tried to recant since. I don’t know how many years he has left but I keep saying that and he keeps smacking them out of the park. Besides you have hitters on the Jays and the combination could make for some good protection all around.
    Regarding Toosoxys comment: And if you act now, you won’t just get one John Lackey for free. We’ll throw in two John Lackeys _and_ a case of beer!
    — Kristen

  3. mlblogsyossif

    The Jays don’t need Ortiz, trust me on this one. This is a team that needs to spend its money on pitching and defense, and use their youth to build their offense around Bautista. Therefore, Ortiz is a pretty horrible fit for this team even though he’s a good hitter. Ortiz is finishing up the last years of his career, and is really just a bat with health problems (that whatever team he’ll be on will have to deal with).
    The Rays Rant- http://yossif.mlblogs.com/

  4. strictlycubsbaseball

    I think Bautista is amazing. The last two season have been fun to watch. It’s going to be a fun and interesting off-season. I know that Ortiz is very likely to leave Boston but I would like to see him stay there personally.

    Ron

  5. toosoxy

    Very likely? really? I just don’t see it. Is this that denial thing? I just think Ben Cherington would erase all that positive “John Lackey to Tommy John” PR in one fell swoop…

  6. mlblogsbluejaysnest

    Rays- there’s no question the Jays need to improve their pitching. If spending money on Ortiz meant they’d have none left for arms, then I’d be against it. But this is a Rogers ownership group that has money. Adding another bat is never a bad idea and there’s reason to believe Ortiz can still be productive.

    Ron- I agree, I can’t see Ortiz coming back. Just seems like he’s had enough of the drama that goes along with playing in Boston.

    Toosoxy- Maybe a new manager would be enough to make Ortiz stay, but I get the impression that his mind has already left Boston. Then again I’m only going by what he said after the season ended, and I know he has retracted some of that. Personally, I’d be surprised to see him back.

Leave a Reply

